Grace Presbytery Special Meeting

Thursday, December 7, 2023

Zoom Meeting Platform (Registration Required for Link)



The Grace Presbytery Council and Stated Clerk have called a special meeting of Grace Presbytery for Thursday, December 7, 2023 at 10:30 a.m. via the Zoom platform in accordance with G-3.0105 of the current Book of Order. The purpose of this special meeting is:

- To hear a report from the Nominating Committee and to act on their recommendation. An opportunity will be given for nominations from the floor. (SR 3.5)
- To hear a report from the Presbytery Council concerning nominees for the Associate Executive Presbyter Nominating Committee and act on their recommendation. An opportunity will be given for nominations from the floor. (SR 1.4.18)
- To approve the date and location of the fourth stated presbytery meeting of 2024 as Thursday, December 5, 2024 at Camp Gilmont. (SR 1.4.10)
- To report to the presbytery those sessions whose 2022 records have been reviewed for compliance with G-3.0108a and G-3.0106 of the Book of Order.

These items were not ready at the time of the September stated meeting of Grace Presbytery and must be completed by the end of 2023 and prior to the next Stated Meeting of Grace Presbytery.

Notice for this special meeting is addressed to the session of every church and to each minister of Word and Sacrament of Grace Presbytery. (SR 1.4.7) Any reposting of this notice shall give the purpose of the meeting above. Only business indicated in the call of special meetings may be transacted at a special meeting. (SR 1.4.6, RONR 9:15)

A quorum for presbytery meetings is ten percent (33) of the Ministers of Word and Sacrament currently on the roll of the presbytery and one ruling elder commissioner from ten percent (14) of the congregations on the roll of the presbytery. (SR 1.4.13)

Motions from the Nominating Committee

1. That Grace Presbytery elect the following individuals to fill new and unexpired terms as listed.

Abbreviations:

A = African F = FemaleN = North RegionAA = African American H = Hispanic/Latino RE = Ruling Elder AS = Asian K = Korean
C = Caucasian L = Laity
D = Deacon M = Male
E = East Region ME = Middle Eastern S = South Region

TE = Teaching Elder (Minister of Word and Sacrament)

W = West Region

Class	Role	Name	Church or Ministry	Gender	Racial Ethnic	Region	
	Board of Trustees						
2024	TE	Lisa Perkins	Faithbridge, Frisco	F	С	N	
2026	TE	Katy Rigler	St. Barnabas, Richardson	F	С	N	
Church Development Committee							
2026	L	Shane Montoya	First, Waco	M	Н	S	
Committee on Ministry							
2026	TE	Laura Walters	St. Barnabas, Richardson	F	C	N	
Committee on Representation							
2026	RE	Daniela Tally	Trinity, Flower Mound	F	Н	W	
		Nominat	ing Committee				
2024	TE	Ron Salfen	Honorably Retired	M	C	Е	
2025	RE	Cindy Miller	Westminster, Corsicana	F	C	S	
Regional Administrative Committees							
2025	RE	Curtis Wells	St. Andrew, Denton	M	С	W	
Children and Youth Ministry Committee							
2024	L	Emma Rigler	St. Barnabas, Richardson	F	С	N	
General Assembly Commissioners							
2024	RE	Tammy Stepka	First, Garland	F	С	N	
General Assembly Alternate Commissioners							
2024	RE	Martha Kinard	Grace, Arlington	F	С	W	
2024	RE	Bonne Cavin	NorthPark, Dallas	F	С	N	
2024	TE	Brendan McLean	First, Tyler	M	С	Е	
2024	TE	Kelly Staples	Member at Large	F	С	W	
2024	TE	William Benner	Honorably Retired	M	С	S	

Motions from Presbytery Council

- 1. Presbytery Council places the following names in nomination to serve as the Associate Executive Presbyter Search Committee (SR 1.4.18):
 - a. Rev. Brendan Mclean, First Presbyterian Church, Tyler (East)
 - b. Ruling Elder Cindy Miller, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Corsicana (South)
 - c. Rev. Terra Pennington, First Presbyterian Church, Stephenville (West)
 - d. Rev. Dr. Perryn Rice, Lake Highlands Presbyterian Church, Dallas (North)
 - e. Ruling Elder Mike Shaw, Grace Presbyterian Church, Plano (North)

Information: Serving as Staff Resource will be Executive Presbyter Chris Lee and Coordinator of Office and Ministry Tammy Stepka.

2. That Grace Presbytery approve the date and location of the fourth stated presbytery meeting of 2024 as Thursday, December 5, 2024 at Camp Gilmont. (SR 1.4.10)

Motion from the Stated Clerk

1. That Grace Presbytery receive the following report of the Stated Clerk:

In accordance with the Book of Order G-3.0108a and G-3.0106, each year Clerks of Session are required to submit Session Minutes, Rolls, and Registers for presbytery review. The following is the report of the review of session records for 2022:

22 Churches Submitted Session Records for 2022 without Exceptions.				
Aledo, Faith	Honey Grove, Main Street			
Belton, First	Irving, Hackberry Creek			
Bonham, First	Irving, Woodhaven			
Carrollton, Nor'Kirk	Joshua, Union Hill			
Dallas, First	Kilgore, First			
Dallas, Westminster	Longview, Centre			
Denton, St. Andrews	McKinney, Trinity			
Fort Worth, First	Plano, First			
Fort Worth, Ridglea	Salado, Salado			
Fort Worth, St. Stephen	Southlake, Trinity			
Ft. Worth, Westminster	Tyler, First			
Garland, First	Winnsboro, First			

18 Churches Submitted Session Records for 2022 with Exceptions.				
Arlington, First	Henderson, First			
Arlington, Grace	Hurst, St Philip			
Arlington, Westminster	Mesquite, First			
Bedford, Emmanuel	Paris, Central			
Clarksville, First	Paris, First			
Crowley, First	Richardson, Canyon Creek			
Cumby, First	Richardson, First			
Dallas, NorthPark	Richardson, Saint Barnabas			
Denton, Trinity	Sulphur Springs, First			
Duncanville, First	Terrell, First			
Deport, First	Waco, Central			
Flower Mound, Trinity	Waco, First			
Granbury, First	Weatherford, Grace First			

85 Churches Have Not Submit Session Records for 2022.		
Allen, First	Grand Prairie, West Fork	
Athens, First	Grapevine, First	
Blue Ridge, Crossroads	Greenville, United	
Bridgeport, First	Hamilton, First	
Cameron, First	Kaufman, First	
Canton, First	Lancaster, First	
Clarksville, Pine Grove	Lewisville, First	
Cleburne, United	Lindale, Bethesda	
Clifton, First	Longview, Alpine	
Commerce, First	Longview, First	
Corsicana, Westminster	Longview, St Andrew	
Dallas, Bentwood Trail	Lott, First	
Dallas, Eastminster	Mabank, First	
Dallas, El Divino Salvador	Mansfield, Trinity	
Dallas, Glendale	McKinney, First	
Dallas, Iglesia Emmanuel	Midlothian, First	
Dallas, Lake Highlands	Mineral Wells, First	
Dallas, Northridge	Mt. Pleasant, First	
Dallas, Oak Cliff	North Richland Hills, St. Paul	
Dallas, Preston Hollow	Palestine, First	
Dallas, St. Andrew's	Pittsburg, First	
Dallas, St. Mark	Plano, Grace	
Dallas, United African	Plano, West Plano	
Denison, First	Prosper, Prosper	
Denison, Hyde Park	Rockdale, First	
Denton, First	Rockwall, First	
DeSoto, DeSoto	Rusk, First	
Ennis, First	Sherman, Covenant	
Fairfield, Fairfield-Harmony	Sherman, Grand Avenue	

Farmers Branch, Faith United	Sharp, United
Flower Mound, Flower Mound	Stephenville, First
Forney, First	Temple, Grace
Fort Worth, Gethsemane	Texarkana, Northwood
Fort Worth, St Peter	Tenaha, Tennessee
Fort Worth, Westside	Tyler, Highland
Frisco, Faithbridge	Whitewright, First
Gainesville, First	Waxahachie, Central
Grand Prairie, First	
Hillsboro, First	
Hooks, First	